Revisiting Oliver Stone’s “The Doors” and my Jim Morrison fascination

doors

Freshlyworded

doorsHad he lived, Jim Morrison would have turned 70 this year.  He was born on December 8, 1943 – 2 days and 30 years before me.

As I remembered it, I hardly knew who Jim Morrison was before I saw the movie “The Doors” directed by Oliver Stone.

It came out in March 1991 so I would have been 17, in my final year of high school.

I remember, such was my musical naivety at the time, that I kept on confusing “Van Morrison“, the Irish folk singer with “Jim Morrison“, the hard-drinking, poetry-spouting Dionysian rock-god.

I wince now, thinking about it.

When the movie came out, I was instantly hooked by the chanting crowds,  frenzied stage performances, the imagery – shamans, American indians, acid trips in the desert, the wild women  and the enigma of Jim Morrison (as played by Val Kilmer) the American poet…

View original post 1,413 more words

